Scott Drayco

Created by B.V. Lawson

Handsome former classical piano whiz SCOTT DRAYCO never dreamed he’d end up working for the FBI for years, never mind eventually setting himself up in the the private sector as a battle-scarred “crime consultant.” But then he never expected to inherit a falling down Opera House, either.

But that’s what’s happened. A grateful client bequeaths Scott the building, located in Cape Unity, Virginia, a once-charming seaside village that’s seen better days, and he’s not quite sure what to do with the once-majestic eyesore. Unloading it proves to be a more difficult task than Scott ever imagined, especially when a potential buyer turns up dead on center stage in Played to Death (2014), Scott’s first full-length adventure.

Naturally, Scott decides to get to the bottom of it all, but while doing it, he becomes friendly with local Sheriff Sailor and Deputy Nelia Tyler, not to mention a lovely (and soon-to-be divorced) town councilman’s wife, Darcie Squier. Subsequent entries in the independently published series find Scott increasingly drawn to the former resort.

Not that that was debut of the big galoot (he stands 6’4″)–he had previously appeared in several digital short stories, and has continued to appear in both short fiction and novels, his world slowly filling in, with appearances from his investigator father, celebrated defense attorney Benny Baskin and a strong supporting cast of regular irregulars.


Poet, author, blogger, and journalist BV Lawson is a three-time Derringer Award finalist and 2012 winner for her short stories, which have appeared  in such venues as Noir Nation, Mystery Weekly, and Spinetingler, as well as digitally. She was also honored by the American Independent Writers and Maryland Writers Association for her Scott Drayco series, and Played to Death was a Shamus Award finalist for Best Indie P.I. Novel in 2015, and 2020 introduced a new series based around odd couple team of Beverly Laborde and Adam Dutton, a con artist and a cop. The author currently lives in Arlington, Virginia, with her husband and enjoys flying above the Chesapeake Bay in a little Cessna.



  • “The Devil to Play” (2008, Static Movement)
  • “Valley of the Shadow of Death” (2009, Midnight Screaming)
  • “Ill-Gotten Games” (February 2012, digitalKindle it!
  • “Blood Antiphon” (2012, False ShadowsBuy this book Kindle it!
  • “The Clue Room” (2012, False ShadowsBuy this book Kindle it!
  • “Terror of the Mind Bandit” (2012, False ShadowsBuy this book Kindle it!
  • “The Fine Art of Justice” (2012, False ShadowsBuy this book Kindle it!
  • “The Tradition Thief” (September 2010, Rope and Wire)
  • “Out of the Clouds” (2012, False ShadowsBuy this book Kindle it!
  • “Double Your Pleasure” (April 2013, Beat to a Pulp: Hardboiled 2Buy this book
  • “Vengeance is Blind” (November 2013, digitalKindle it!
  • “Silent Measures” (October 2015, Flash and Bang) Buy this book  Kindle it!
  • “Hear No Evil” (2016, Hear No EvilKindle it!
  • “Ter-LUCK-en” (2016, Hear No EvilKindle it!
  • “The Least of These” (2016, Hear No EvilKindle it!
  • “With Sweet Lavender”  (2016, Hear No EvilKindle it!
  • “FM is for Murder” (2016, Hear No EvilKindle it!
  • “The Maltese Moon Rock” (November 2016, digital) Kindle it!
  • “Suite in the Key of Death” (March 2021, Mystery Weekly)


  • False Shadows: Eight Scott Drayco Mysteries (2012) Buy this book Kindle it!
  • Grave Madness: Three Scott Drayco Mysteries (2013) Kindle it!
  • Vengeance is Blind: Three Scott Drayco Mysteries (2013) Kindle it!
  • Hear No Evil: Scott Drayco Mystery Stories (2016) Kindle it!
  • The Scott Drayco Mysteries: Books 1-3 (2017) Kindle it!


Respectfully submitted by Kevin Burton Smith.

Leave a Reply