Teddy Fay

Created by Stuart Woods & Parnell Hall

Former CIA operative, “master of disguise” and all-round shit magnet TEDDY FAY isn’t really a private eye—his official occupation is “movie producer”–but he’s known as the kinda guy who can get things fixed, and isn’t exactly known for abiding by legal niceties in the pursuit of his own version of problem solving.

Originally created by bestselling author Stuart Woods (Stone Barrington) and Parnell Hall (Stanley Hastings), Teddy has appeared in a string of high-flying novels (in his debut, 2016’s Smooth Operator, he’s working for the president of the United States), the first four collaborative efforts by Woods and Hall. The fifth, Jackpot (2021), was co-written with Byron Quertermous.

After Woods’s death in 2022, author Brett Battles, best known for his Jonathan Quinn series, about a former spy who now works as a sort of “cleaner” for the intelligence industry, was asked to complete a partial Teddy Fay manuscript.

“Battles, a super underrated talent, was the perfect choice to step in here,”as therealbookspy.com puts it. The publishers were so impressed by Battles that he was invited to not only to continue to writing the Teddy Fay series, he was also asked to step in and continue Woods’s flagship series featuring Stone Barrington.


Stuart Woods was the author of more than eighty-five novels, including the #1 New York Times-bestselling Stone Barrington series. A native of Georgia, he began his writing career in the advertising industry. Chiefs, his debut in 1981, won the Edgar Award. An avid sailor and pilot, Woods lived in Florida, Maine, and Connecticut.

Besides Jackpot, Bryon Quertermous is the author of the the Dominick Prince trilogy, about a frustrated wannabe writer. Bryon lives in Michiga, where he can be found screaming at the TV during football and baseball season and playing Ninja Turtles and My Little Pony.

Brett Battles has written over twenty novels and several short stories, and his Quinn novel The Deceived(2008) won the Barry Award for Best Thriller. A former computer engineer (he worked for Dell), he is one of the founding members of Killer Year, and is a member of Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers. In 2022, he was chosen to continue the late Stuart Woods’ incredibly durable Stone Barrington series, as well as the Teddy Fay books.  Brett lives and writes in Los Angeles.

NOVELS (By Stuart Woods & Parnell Hall)

NOVELS (By Stuart Woods & Byron Quertermous)

NOVELS (By Stuart Woods & Brett Battles)

Respectfully submitted by Kevin Burton Smith.

Leave a Reply